Keyport council renews liquor licenses for businesses, clubs

KEYPORT – The Borough Council has renewed the liquor licenses of businesses and organizations in Keyport for the period beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2020.

Councilman Joseph Sheridan, Councilman Isaiah Cooper, Councilman Matthew Goode, Councilwoman Victoria Pacheco, Councilman Dennis Fotopoulos and Councilwoman Delia McDermott voted to renew the liquor licenses during a meeting on June 18.

The liquor licenses are referred to plenary retail consumption licenses, plenary retail distribution licenses and club licenses.

According to a resolution, the borough clerk has certified that the appropriate fees have been paid and that the Keyport Department of Code Enforcement, the borough’s fire official and the Keyport Police Department have inspected each location and advised her that all pertinent statutes, rules and ordinances of the borough have been complied with by each applicant.

The following plenary retail consumption licenses were renewed: Keyport Liquor License (McDonagh’s Pub); Keyport Waterfront Liquor, LLC (Old Glory Brew Hall and Brick Oven); Uptown Keyport Bar and Grill, LLC; Vestri Corp. (Up the Creek Tavern); Timber Hill Associates II, LLC (Burlew’s Seafood &and Steak); and Suburban Wine and Liquor Inc. (Smith’s Liquor Shop).

The following club licenses were renewed: Columbian Club of Keyport (Knights of Columbus); Keyport-Matawan Elks BPOE 2030; Keyport Yacht Club; and Raritan Post 23, American Legion (American Legion Raritan Post 23).

The following plenary retail distribution license was renewed: MD Liquor and Wine, LLC (Buy Rite of Keyport).

In other business, council members voted to authorize the promotion of three employees in the Department of Public Works.

Sheridan, Cooper, Goode, Pacheco, Fotopoulos and McDermott voted to promote Robert Kutschman to the position of superintendent of public works and certified public works manager; Steven O’Dwyer to the position of supervisor; and Charles Shaffer to the position of public works repairer.

Kutschman’s base salary will be $73,150, effective immediately; O’Dwyer’s base salary will be $67,410, effective immediately; and Shaffer’s base salary will be $40,841, effective immediately.